Anyone else getting a bit tired of players faking injuries to avoid international duty?

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Tyrion Tannister
Tyrion Tannister
Global Superstar
Global Superstar
User Points : 18418
Posting Flair : 1090

PostTyrion Tannister Wed Oct 10, 2012 4:39 am

Jordan Rhodes and Robert Snodgrass are the newest names to add to the list, both coming down with mysterious 'ankle injuries' that will no doubt be miraculously better once the normal league resumes.

In my opinion it's downright insulting to their country that they can't be bothered to represent them simply because they aren't being paid to. If I was a professional footballer the pinnacle of my career would be lifting the World Cup trophy with my nation, anything else (premiership, champions league, etc) would just be the icing on the cake. It shouldn't matter what odds your team have of winning. Scotland and Wales will be lucky to qualify let alone win, but that shouldn't make any difference in the players eyes, it wouldn't mine if I chose to represent Wales instead.

Football is one of the only sports in the world where representing your country is actively avoided, and I think it's disgusting.
Caldi Blue
Caldi Blue
Captain of Country
Captain of Country
User Points : 3884
Posting Flair : 540

PostCaldi Blue Wed Oct 10, 2012 6:27 am

Yes.

But I'm going to the match on Friday and might pull out last minute due to an 'illness', which would make me a hypocrite.
NN2Red2
NN2Red2
Vice Captain
Vice Captain
User Points : 1617
Posting Flair : 80

PostNN2Red2 Wed Oct 10, 2012 7:13 am

Red614 wrote:Jordan Rhodes and Robert Snodgrass are the newest names to add to the list, both coming down with mysterious 'ankle injuries' that will no doubt be miraculously better once the normal league resumes.